April 2016

East African Community (EAC)

Uganda is one of the founding members and a signatory to the East African Community (EAC) treaty. EAC is a regional intergovernmental organization of seven Partner States namely: The Republics of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, the United Republic of Tanzania, the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), and the Republic of Uganda. The work of the EAC is guided by its Treaty which established the Community. It was signed on 30 November 1999 and entered into force on 7 July 2000 following its ratification by the original three Partner States - Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda.

African Union (AU)

The African Union (AU) is a continental union consisting of all 55 countries on the African continent. It was established on 26th May 2001 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia with the aim of promoting unity and solidarity of African states, to spur economic development, and to promote international cooperation. In this respect, the AU’s vision is “An integrated, prosperous and peaceful Africa, driven by its own citizens and representing a dynamic force in global arena.” The objectives of the AU are:

Vienna Programme of Action (VPOA) for Landlocked countries

The Vienna Programme of Action (VPoA) for Landlocked Developing Countries 2014-2024, is a ten-year action-plan aimed at accelerating sustainable development in Landlocked Developing Countries (LLDC).  The overarching goal of the new Programme of Action is to address the special development needs and challenges of landlocked developing countries arising from landlockedness, remoteness and geographical constraints in a more coherent manner and thus contribute to an enhanced rate of sustainable and inclusive growth, which can contribute to the eradication of poverty by 2024.

2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development: The Africa We Want

Agenda 2063 is Africa’s blueprint and overarching plan for transforming Africa into the global powerhouse of the future. Agenda 2063 is a shared strategic framework for inclusive growth and sustainable development developed through a people-driven process and was adopted, in January of 2015, in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia by the 24th African Union (AU) Assembly of Heads of State and Government, following 18 months of extensive consultations with all formations of African society.

Istanbul Programme of Action (IPOA)

Uganda joined the rest of the Least Developed Countries (LDCs) to sign and ratify the Istanbul Programme of Action 2011-2020 which was adopted by the Fourth United Nations (UN) Conference held in May 2011 in Istanbul, Turkey.  The overall goal of the Istanbul Programme of Action (IPoA) is to overcome the structural challenges faced by LDCs in order to eradicate poverty, achieve internationally agreed development goals and enable eventual graduation from the LDC country category by 2020.

The IPoA identifies eight interlinked priority areas that LDCs are to focus on as follows: 

Regional Framework

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Nulla eu porta lorem. Cras turpis ipsum, iaculis ut auctor eget, euismod eget enim. Curabitur a lorem porttitor lectus euismod semper vitae eu purus.


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Nulla eu porta lorem. Cras turpis ipsum, iaculis ut auctor eget, euismod eget enim. Curabitur a lorem porttitor lectus euismod semper vitae eu purus.


Administratively, national development is overseen by the Executive; headed by the President, who is the Head of State, Head of Government and Commander-in-chief of the Armed Forces; assisted by Cabinet. At the technical level, the highest structure in the coordination of national development is the Policy Coordination Committee (PCC) that comprises members of Cabinet, Heads of UN Agencies and Heads of Missions under the Chairmanship of the Prime Minister.



Institutionally; issues of national development are handled first at the level of Cabinet, which sits in the Office of the President. Cabinet provides overall leadership of the national development agenda. At the technical level, national development is spearheaded by the Ministry of Finance, Planning and Economic Development (MoFPED). MoFPED derives its mandate from the 1995 constitution of the Republic of Uganda.